Saint Alphonsus of Liguori

Saint Alphonse de Liguori is a contemporary of Saint Léonard de Port-Maurice, he is twenty years his junior. Pius IX declared him “Doctor of the Church and whose authority is unparalleled in moral theology. "

Born September 27, 1696 near Naples, he is the eldest of a family of eight children. Joseph de Liguori, his father, often leaves for long missions at sea. The education of the children thus rests largely on the authority of their mother, Anna. This was very pious: morning prayers, catechism, recitation of the rosary and weekly confession with the fathers of the Oratory . It was with his mother that Alphonse developed a devotion to the Blessed Virgin. Around 1702, Alphonse was then 6 years old, the family moved to Naples to educate the children. Alphonse received many lessons such as Latin, Greek, French, Spanish, Italian, history, mathematics, but also notions of physics, philosophy, art ...

His spiritual formation began at the age of seven by Father Thomas Pagano, member of the Congregation of the Oratory founded by Saint Philippe Néri . It was with him that he made his first communion at the age of 9, and became a member of the Congregation of Young Nobles under the patronage of Saint Joseph, in which he participated in religious, but also playful activities. , in the company of the fathers. He remained a member until 1715.

saint Alphonse de Liguori
Saint Alphonsus of Liguori and the Three Ave

Saint Alphonsus de Liguori left us a whole Marian theology gathered in his book Les Gloires de Marie . He writes among other things: “Concerning Ave Maria, may the first practice of this prayer be to say, morning and evening, when getting up and going to bed, three Ave Marias…” and to recommend to priests: “Do not we never tire of inspiring in everyone, devotees and sinners, devotion to the divine Mary, particularly by recommending themselves to the Blessed Virgin, in the morning and in the evening, through Three Hail Marys, so that she may preserve them from mortal sin ".

 

Saint Alphonsus delights in deepening the mystery of the relationship of the Blessed Virgin to the Three Divine Persons.

 

At his Institute of the Redemptorists, he introduced the practice of the Three Avedas into the rule. Thus, all the holy figures of the Order have preached and recommended it.

saint Alphonse de Liguori

Saint Alphonse de Liguori

Saint Alphonse de Liguori est contemporain de saint Léonard de Port-Maurice, il est de vingt ans son cadet. Pie IX l’a déclaré « Docteur de l’Église et dont l’autorité est hors de pair en théologie morale. »

Né le 27 septembre 1696 près de Naples, il est l’aîné d’une famille de huit enfants. Joseph de Liguori, son père, part souvent pour des longues missions en mer. L’éducation des enfants repose donc en grande partie sur l’autorité de leur mère, Anna. Celle-ci se montre très pieuse : prières du matin, catéchisme, récitation du chapelet et confession hebdomadaire chez les pères de l’Oratoire. C’est auprès de sa mère qu’Alphonse développe une dévotion à la Sainte Vierge. Vers 1702, Alphonse est alors âgé de 6 ans, la famille déménage pour Naples afin d’éduquer les enfants. Alphonse reçoit de nombreux enseignements tels que le latin, le grec, le français, l’espagnol, l’italien, l’histoire, les mathématiques, mais aussi des notions de physique, la philosophie, l’art…

Sa formation spirituelle se fait dès ses sept ans par le père Thomas Pagano, membre de la Congrégation de l’Oratoire fondée par saint Philippe Néri. C’est auprès de lui qu’il fait sa première communionà l’âge de 9 ans, et devient membre de la Congrégation des jeunes nobles sous le patronage de saint Joseph, au sein de laquelle il participe à des activités religieuses, mais aussi ludiques, en compagnie des pères. Il en restera membre jusqu’en 1715.

saint Alphonse de Liguori
Saint Alphonse de Liguori et les Trois Ave

Saint Alphonse de Liguori nous a laissé toute une théologie mariale rassemblée dans son livre Les Gloires de Marie. Il écrit entre autres : « Au sujet de l’Ave Maria, que la première pratique de cette prière soit de dire, matin et soir, en se levant et en se couchant, trois Ave Maria… » et de recommander aux prêtres : « Ne nous lassons jamais d’inspirer à tous, aux dévôts et aux pécheurs, la dévotion à la divine Marie, particulièrement en se recommandant à la Bienheureuse Vierge, le matin et le soir, par Trois Ave, afin qu’elle les préserve du péché mortel ».

 

Saint Alphonse se plaît à approfondir le mystère des relations de la Bienheureuse Vierge aux Trois Personnes divines. 

 

À son Institut des Rédemptoristes, il introduisit la pratique des Trois Avedans la règle. Ainsi, tous les saints personnages de l’Ordre l’ont-ils prêchée et recommandée.

saint Alphonse de Liguori