Saint Mechtilde

Benedictine nun, Saint Mechtilde
is one of the greatest figures in the life of the Church in the Middle Ages.

 

Mechtilde was born in 1241 into a powerful family in Hackeborn in Saxony. From the age of seven, she joined her sister, Gertrude of Hackeborn at the Benedictine monastery of Rodersdorf, in the diocese of Halberstadt.

After having received an important intellectual training, Mechtilde became a teacher and responsible for young students. This is how she took in, in 1261, an orphan girl aged five who would become Saint Gertrude of Helfta. It is thanks to the latter that the deep mystical life of Saint Mechtilde was known. She then became the director of the monastery school, then director of the choir and mistress of novices.

carte sainte Mechtilde.jpg

Mechtilde is distinguished by her humility, her fervor, her kindness, the transparency and innocence of her life, the familiarity and intensity with which she lives her relationship with God, the Virgin and the saints.

In the "Books of Special Graces", written by the one who will be Saint Gertrude, she presents with precision the force and the holiness of the recitation of the three Ave. She is, in a way, one of the first propagandists of the devotion to the three Hail Marys.

Adorned by the Most Holy Trinity with unique and exceptional favors and graces, the Mother of God is greeted in this devotion, in a singular way which reflects in adoration of the three times holy God.

 

Saint Mechtilde of Hackeborn entrusts us to the Sacred Heart of Jesus and to the Virgin. She invites us to praise the Son with the Heart of his Mother and to praise Mary with the Heart of the Son.

Sainte Mechtilde.jpg

Sainte Mechtilde

Religieuse bénédictine, sainte Mechtilde
est l’une des plus grandes figures de la vie de l’Église au Moyen-Âge.

 

Mechtilde naît en 1241 dans une famille puissante à Hackeborn en Saxe. Dès l’âge de sept ans, elle rejoint sa sœur, Gertrude de Hackeborn au monastère bénédictin de Rodersdorf, dans le diocèse d’Halberstadt.

Après avoir reçu une importante formation intellectuelle, Mechtilde devient enseignante et responsable des jeunes élèves. C’est ainsi qu’elle recueille, en 1261, une orpheline âgée de cinq et qui deviendra sainte Gertrude de Helfta. C’est grâce à cette dernière que fût connu la profonde vie mystique de sainte Mechtilde. Elle devient ensuite la directrice de l’école du monastère puis directrice du chœur et maîtresse des novices.  

carte sainte Mechtilde.jpg

Mechtilde se distingue par son humilité, sa ferveur, son amabilité, la transparence et l’innocence de sa vie, la familiarité et l’intensité avec lesquelles elle vit sa relation avec Dieu, la Vierge et les saints.

Dans le « Livres des grâces spéciales », écrit par celle qui sera sainte Gertrude, elle présente avec précision la force et la sainteté de la récitation des trois Ave. Elle est, en quelque sorte, l’une des premières propagandistes de la dévotion aux trois Ave Maria.

Ornée par la Très Sainte Trinité de faveurs et de grâces uniques et exceptionnelles, la Mère de Dieu est saluée en cette dévotion, de manière singulière qui rejaillit en adoration du Dieu trois fois saint.

 

Sainte Mechtilde de Hackeborn nous confie au Sacré Cœur de Jésus et à la Vierge. Elle invite à louer le Fils avec le Cœur de sa Mère et à louer Marie avec le Cœur du Fils.

Sainte Mechtilde.jpg